Monday, December 22, 2008

Radical realignment, take II

I mentioned in my previous post that I dislike moneygrab conference championship games. So my more radical plan (and the previous one was pretty radical) knocks everyone in I-A/FBS into convenient ten-team conferences, where they can all play Pac-10 style 9-game round-robin schedules. This one's more radical because while the previous proposal rarely moved more than two or three teams from the existing major conferences (except for breaking the Big 12 in two), this one blows up almost everyone except the Big Ten and Pac 10.

Boston College, Connecticut, Maryland, Penn State, Pittsburgh, Rutgers, Syracuse, Virginia, Virginia Tech, West Virginia
2008 Champion: Penn State

Clemson, Duke, Kentucky, Louisville, North Carolina, North Carolina State, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vanderbilt, Wake Forest
2008 Champion: North Carolina

Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Florida State, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Miami (FL), Mississippi, Mississippi State, South Florida
2008 Champion: Florida

Cincinnati, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Purdue, Wisconsin
2008 Champion: Ohio State

Great Plains
Boise State, Brigham Young, Colorado, Iowa, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Minnesota, Missouri, Utah
2008 Champion: Utah

Arkansas, Baylor, LSU, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech
2008 champion: Oklahoma

Arizona, Arizona State, California, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, USC, UCLA, Washington, Washington State
2008 champion: USC

Air Force, Colorado State, Fresno State, Hawaii, Idaho, San Diego State, San Jose State, UNLV, Utah State, Wyoming
2008 champion: Air Force

Atlantic Coast
Army, Buffalo, East Carolina, Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Marshall, Navy, Temple, UCF, Western Kentucky
2008 champion: East Carolina

Gulf Coast
Louisiana Tech, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, Memphis, Middle Tennessee State, Northern Illinois, Southern Miss, Troy, Tulane, UAB
2008 champion: Southern Miss

Akron, Ball State, Bowling Green, Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan, Kent State, Miami (OH), Ohio, Toledo, Western Michigan
2008 champion: Ball State

Arkansas State, Houston, New Mexico, New Mexico State, North Texas, Rice, Southern Methodist, TCU, Tulsa, UTEP
2008 champion: Tulsa

No comments: